recent :: archive :: rings :: sign :: profile :: aim :: home

2004-11-25 :: 7:16 p.m.

everything crammed into one entry

Alright, 'cakes; it's Thanksgiving Day (well, evening) and I am alone in my cave of a studio apartment.

But I am OK with that. I am in the middle of preparing to move. This morning Joe (youngest uncle) brought over a bunch of boxes from his work so I could begin the process of shoving all of my belongings into containers and getting them into a new space.

This new space will not be in Cincinnati as I had once planned, but, for the time being, in an apartment in the Foothills. By some divine providence I have found a place within my budget and reasonably close to both of my lab jobs (Nalco and Ventana). So at least I will not have awful hour-long drives to work anymore. Woo and Hoo.

So I meet with the property manager lady tomorrow and hopefully they will let me do a month-to-month lease-- I don't want to commit to staying in Tucson too long. I worry about complacency setting in and taking over.

In other news, Ventana job = awesome. I am on a small "team" in the quality control branch of the Manufacturing department (so corporate sounding). The three of us on the Stability Team are working on the daunting project of the CE Mark-- meaning we have to make sure the expiration dates on all the reagents we produce meet the regulations and guidelines of the European equivalent of the FDA. It sounds all important and cool and is actually quite fun, in spite of some really boring spots of tedious paperwork.

Also, my boss is fantastic. She and I have the same degree (Bachelor's in Chemistry-- the other girl on our team is just Molecular and Cellular Biology, lame) AND she went to school at Northland College, which is in Ashland, Wisconsin, which is an hour and a half from my hometown, which, in Yooper terms, is really close. So we have similar points of reference and exchange funny stories of northwoods living. Good, good times. And, just to prove that she is the best boss EVER, she let us work only a half day yesterday, but paid us for the full day. For me, who has been pretty near destitute for so long, this is a nice gesture.

Speaking of nice gestures, the boys of Comedy Corner have offered to sacrifice themselves in a bachelor auction as a benefit to help replace my car and get me on my way to Cincy. I thought they were joking at first, but then I learned that Sierra had already started on getting permission and such, so I started crying, naturally. But just knowing that they would be willing to do such a thing to help me is worth more to me than any car. Dammit! I'm getting all weepy again!

And then dear, dear Justin called me out of the blue yesterday after his return from Costa Rica. I told him about what the Comedy Corner guys had offered to do and how it affected me and then he started crying, which made me cry all over again and it was all garbled speech and kleenex for a few minutes.

Justin and I also talked for a goodish while about David, but that is another story altogether. And I am sure you've already noticed that David is one thing I won't go in to detail about here.

Right now I am listening to Spiderman on TV (Maguire's cracking voice is making my teeth hurt) and am feeling tired.

2 comments so far

previous - random - next

host :: contact :: design and content �1996-2004 by O.M. Sanders